I confess. I was one of those confused, per the cartoon. I’m not into a lot of special diets or health foods or anything and I haven’t been a milk drinker since I was a kid. I only buy it for occasional cooking needs (and yes, that means I waste a lot of milk). So I’d not paid much attention to soy milk, almond milk, etc. I thought they sounded kind of weird, but I always assumed* they were some sort of dairy product (ie, made with milk). Milk comes from cows, goats, or other mammals. That means I agree with the government this time. Call it almond juice or soy purée or coconut smoothie or whatever it actually is, but don’t call it milk. It’s not milk.
* Oooo, that’s where I went wrong. Never assume …, yada, yada